Station House

Carlingford Lough Heritage Trust

Carlingford, Co. Louth

The Railway was brought through Carlingford in the 1870s by the L&NWR which linked Newry and Dundalk to the nearby ferry terminal at Greenore which in turn connected to the island of Anglesey and thereafter to Euston Station in London.

The station at Carlingford is a detached H - plan, seven - bay, single - storey structure, dated 1876, and now in use as tourist office.

Our brief was to explore the feasibility of conserving/restoring the building not only as a Tourist Office but also shop and cafeteria.